Midyear Reading Stats | 2017

This year I got into tacking my reading with a spreadsheet. I am using Brock’s spreadsheet which I swear tracks everything you’d ever need to track. Here are some of the most interesting stats so far in 2017.

Genres Read

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 9.58.50 AM

These are the genres I have read so far this year. Not surprisingly, fantasy is my top genre. However, I think I a doing a good job reading from other genres. Most surprisingly, historical fiction is tied for second most read genre.

Book Format

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.17.40 AM

This is interesting. I read a hell of a lot of audiobooks. I generally listen to them when I commute, go for walks or clean my apartment. I have also been working on reading some of my eBook library, so that portion is high as well.

Year Published

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.25.14 AM

How much I have read from the last 5 years is getting insane. I have definitely been reading a lot of backlist books lately. I should probably read some older books, but that doesn’t really bother me too much.

Where I Got The Books

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.33.06 AM

These are where all of my books come from. 60% of them are from the Library or Overdrive (which is also the library), so that is kind of insane. I have around 90 books on my TBR, and still 60% of my books come from the library. I just love supporting my library, and I read a lot of new releases from the library as well.

Age Group

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.38.19 AM.png

These are the “suggested” age group for the book. I don’t really pay a lot of attention, so I am very surprised that over half of the books I read are adult. I think I am transitioning more towards adult. The orange strip that isn’t labelled is Middle Grade, which I only read about 1 or 2 books from so far this year.

Author Gender

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.44.13 AM

I little less than a 50/50 spit. Sounds good to me.

Protagonist Gender

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.47.11 AM.png

Another fairly even split. I read a lot of fantasy so there is often split POV’s between female and male characters, which I put under ensemble cast.

Author Nationality

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.49.43 AM

This is the one I need to work on the most. I have mostly just read American authors. I need to start reading from a lot more authors around the world, and more Canadian authors.

Series Tracking

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 10.54.31 AM

Series are my jam, so I always have too many on the go. These are the series I am working on, completed or DNF’d. I went through a series purge and DNF’d a few. I might do a post about them soon.


That’s just some of the stats, there are lots of charts and tables. Hopefully, this will help me make more solid goals for next year. Do you tack your reading stats? Let me know 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Midyear Reading Stats | 2017

Leave a Reply

