Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

23766634Genre: Fantasy

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3 

Publication: 5/2/2017 by Bloomsbury

Pages: 699

Format: eBook

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 Stars

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Goodreads Summary

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

My Thoughts

I have no idea how to even start talking about this book. How I feel about it is all over the place. As much as I enjoyed it, there was also a lot that drove me nuts. I know this series is problematic, but while reading this book I just saw it more and more. I could look past it in the previous books, but this one just got on my nerves. I found the first half of the book was very slow, and I had a hard time getting into the story. The conclusion did picked up and I was much more invested in the story. I even teared up a bit, however after stepping away from the book I started to realize my biggest gripe about the book. There was no consequences for the characters! There was a major war, and they all walked away unscathed, which isn’t at all realistic to war. Especially, what happened concerning Rhys and Amren, I felt short changed.

Other things that got on my nerves were that Rhys and Feyre referred to each other as “mate” ALL of the time, instead of using their names. It made me cringe. Speaking of cringing, let’s talk about the sex scenes. They were painful. Rhys wanted to sex Feyre up, ALL THE TIME. It felt like the only dialogue they had was sexual. Then on top of that, half of the sex scenes happened in situations that weren’t at all appropriate. There is way more to real relationships than just sex and I haven’t seen much of any substance from them.

I may seem like I didn’t like this book but I can say I did enjoy the experience overall. I am on the fence about reading the next 3 books, but I will probably try them from my library. I am curious to see what other people think about this book? Did you love it? What parts drove you nuts? Let me know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I liked the book just as much as I didn’t like it. I hated how they kept saying mate everytime they wanted to say each others name just like you mentioned. But I think my favorite part of this story was the final fight. I’m excited to read the next three books but I’m also worried with how “okay” this book was how the next three will be. I just want books that are as good as ACOMAF

    Like

Leave a Reply

