Try A Chapter Book Tag

 

2017-06-25 14.16.23

I wanted to try out something new today, so I wandered down to my local library to do the Try a Chapter Book Tag. I have seen this going around Booktube lately, so I hope it translates to the blog world okay. While I was at the library I picked out 4 books to “try a chapter from” to see which book I wanted to check out and read. I didn’t make it a whole chapter in most of these books but I read about 15-20 pages from each to get an idea of which one to check out.

213647 27827203 13612962 5057474

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima – I have almost pulled this one off the shelf to take home many times. Therefore, it was a clear choice to try a chapter from. I read about 15 pages from this book, and I was quite confused by it. Obviously, it would make more sense if I read on but it didn’t hook me enough to want to take home today.

Frostblood by Elly Blake – This is on my my anticipated book for this year,  especially since it’s written for by a  Canadian author. I really enjoyed the first chapter of this book. I was definitely interested enough to want to read on. This was very much on of my top contenders.

The Copper Gauntlet by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare –  I picked this one up because I read the first book in the series last year and was interested to see how the series continues. I read the entire first chapter with this one and I really wanted to keep going. Reading the chapter made me excited for this series again, and this is another top contender.

The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff – This is the odd book out in this collection for sure. I have been eyeing this one up for awhile and this was the second book I picked up to try. I found I was sightly confused by the first 14 pages or so. However, it wasn’t a negative confusion but instead I am more interested to read it.

The Decision

This was a tough decision for me. I wanted to bring home 3 of these books! However, I only had room in my immediate TBR for one of these book. I eliminated The Warrior Heir first, it’s still on my TBR for another day. I just couldn’t get into those first few pages, when you likely need to read a lot more to understand how the prologue fits into the story. I eliminated The 19th Wife because of it’s length (it’s about 500 pages), and because I was feeling the other 2 books so much more at this moment. I had the hardest time choosing between Frostblood and The Copper Gauntlet. I almost brought them both home. However, The Copper Gauntlet won overall. I am excited to continue the series and I am very much in the mood for middle grade. Frostblood will be brought home another day, when I am ready to start a new series again.

 

Do you think I made the right decision? If you have read any of these books, let me know what you think of them. 

2 thoughts on “Try A Chapter Book Tag

  1. Hi there! I’ve been a terrible blogger lately and I’m actually visiting you back from a comment you left on my TTT back last month! My apologies!

    I want to read The Warrior Heir too! It does look good and I’ve heard good things about it around the blogosphere.

    Frostblood I enjoyed and I’m glad that you liked the first chapter!

    The Clare and Black series is one I want to read too! I hope that you enjoy it!

    This is a very cool way to pick your new book! I don’t watch booktube so I’m not sure how it translated exactly but it really came out well I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

