Review: The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

18196040Genre: Dystopian/Historical Fiction
Series: Standalone
Publication: 11/4/2004 by Little,Brown
Pages: 424 Pages
Source: Library
Rating: 2 out of 5 Stars

Synopsis
730. That’s how many days I’ve been trapped.
18. That’s how many days I have left to find a way out.

DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible….

JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister….

MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She’s about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window…..

In this innovative and adrenaline-fueled novel, they all come together in a desperate attempt to escape a lawless labyrinth before the clock runs out.


1f9f5-22bstarsMy Review

I am not sure what I really say about this book. To start, I am conflicted by what genre this is. It’s labelled as a dystopian, but when I read it I don’t get that genre from it. I classify it as more of a historical fiction. It was based on a real place, a real walled city, so I shelve it as historical fiction. It might be more fiction than actual history but I’m okay with that.

Now the book in general, I found it to be very mediocre. It was very much as “meh” book. I wasn’t blown away by anything and had a hard time getting really engaged in the story. I even considered DNF’ing it once or twice but I did like it enjoy to continue on. It wasn’t a terrible book, it just wasn’t the story for me.

One thing that bothered me about the book was that the author used very stereotypical Asian things (ie: rice, noodles) as descriptors. It bothered me because it took me out of the story and it felt very stereotypical. There are a lot of ways to describe something so just using those stereotypes it felt very cheap and lazy. It felt like the author really wanted to remind us we were in an Asian setting but I felt it was a very bad way of doing it.

All-in-all, I wouldn’t recommend this book. It wasn’t for me and I there a lot of better written stories out there. I liked the premise but the execution fell flat for me. I will likely give this author another chance because I am really interested in reading Wolf by Wolf. Let’s hope I enjoy that one better!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

Leave a Reply

