Review: It by Stephen King

27877138Genre: Horror
Publication: September 1986 by Scribner
Pages: 1156 Pages
Format: Audiobook
Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Goodreads

Summary

Welcome to Derry, Maine. It’s a small city, a place as hauntingly familiar as your own hometown. Only in Derry the haunting is real.

They were seven teenagers when they first stumbled upon the horror. Now they are grown-up men and women who have gone out into the big world to gain success and happiness. But the promise they made twenty-eight years ago calls them reunite in the same place where, as teenagers, they battled an evil creature that preyed on the city’s children. Now, children are being murdered again and their repressed memories of that terrifying summer return as they prepare to once again battle the monster lurking in Derry’s sewers.

My Review

I sit in a weird place with this book. I really loved it, but I think it’s starting to show it’s age a bit. There was a section at the end that was very unnecessary and just didn’t have a place in the story. If you have read this book then you know what I am talking about, and it turns a lot of people off from this book. It was suppose to have some deep symbolism but I thought I could have been done differently.

However, looking past that, I did very much love this book. I loved how the story of the kids unfolded along side of their adult story. They paralleled each other, and I think it was smart story telling. I will say, I was a little more invested in the characters when they were kids more than when they were adults. It reminded me a lot of Stand By Me or Stranger Things, which made me connect with the strength of childhood and being apart gang of kids.

I highly recommend this story. I am pumped for the upcoming movie. I do think that this book probably didn’t need to be over 1000 pages. There was A LOT of backstory, which might not have needed to be included but at the same time it did help develop the world and add that haunting aura. I will say this book didn’t scare me, but I find I’m hard to get scared by reading. However, I may not stand over any sewer grates for an extended period of time any time soon.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: It by Stephen King

  1. Is it weird that I’ve never read a Stephen King’s book? Then again, I don’t like horror so I don’t think it’d make sense for me to do it.
    I’m glad you enjoyed this one, despite being so dense, and that section at the end. I feel I usually connect with the kid characters a lot more than I do with the adult ones, too. There’s just something about their innocence and creativity that speaks to me. Adults can sometimes be so aggravating and complicated it completely ruins the story.
    Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

